Dear stress, let’s break up.- Me

*Sigh* I have a love/ hate affair with that beast known as social media. I don’t currently use ALL of the usual suspects, just Face Book, Pinterest and that old reliable dinosaur: email. I have a Twitter and Instagram account, but when I get up in the morning I put on my old, comfortable slippers of Face Book and email. They feel perfectly lovely to me.

While sipping my first fabulous, “makes life worth living” cup of hot coffee, I made a decision.

I am going to do my level best not to get caught up in the political wranglings this go round, as it is only going to get more heated and anxiety producing as we head towards November.

I will vote. I will do my civic duty. And I will  base my choices  on what rings true to me.

Getting my panties in a bunch, rolling my eyes and clenching my teeth only causes me anxiety. Shooting off a pithy reply is rarely helpful or life giving to the recipient either.

So.

I am going to focus on my own heart beat.

It is unlikely that a post or email informing me just how “nuts” one politician is, or just how much our country NEEDS the other politician, is going to alter my decision.

So, I am taking a deep breath and exhaling this go round. Listen to your own heart beat. Go down the path that makes sense to you.

As that master poet T. Swift so eloquently told us “You’ve got to shake it off”.

Peace, Love and Sanity.

 

Leave a Reply

