Change Can Be Good ( and scary ).

I have touched on the subject of homosexuality and being a Christinan before in a blog. It was quite awhile ago, albeit. Let me say this, I love Glennon Doyle Meltons take on this subject ( the Momastary blog ) She unapologetically defends her love for  God and the Bible and her love for gay people! I too, unapologetically defend my love for gay people and the fact that I am a born again Christian. I have one gay son and one straight son. I also have a sweet daughter. The fact that we have a gay son is not the only reason I love gay people and know that God does too. However, the  fact that I have and adore my gay son has moved me in an over 10 year search for peace and research on this topic, yes. I pray continually and research frequently about it. I see no end in sight to this.

What have I learned? I would say this, it is not just what I have learned, but what  I have observed. I asked my son on one of his visits home, “When did you know you were gay”? I said this in love ( and I really, really wanted to know ).  His reply was simple: “When did you know you were heterosexual? ” Touché. I have always known I am heterosexual.  I don’t feel like going into all the biblical break down or all of the research behind this change of heart of mine. I do know it is quite possible to love God, His word and to love people, all people. Yes, the heart can be deceptive of above all things, so can our refusal to research why we need to let go of our fear and loathing of homosexuality. The heart and fear can both be deceptive, very deceptive.

It is oh so scary to let go and let God move us in the direction that he wants our lives to go in. I have fought change on the topic of homosexuality. It can be terrifying to let the changes God most certainly will put us through in order to get us to where He desires us be. I am not unique in this area. The Almighty changes us all after we accept the free, “no strings attached” gift of Jesus Christ. He may not take you where He has taken me and my family. I just try to remember this:  “The Lord isn’t slow to do what he promised, as some people think. Rather, he is patient for your sake. He doesn’t want to destroy anyone but wants all people to have an opportunity to turn to him and change the way they think and act”. 2 Peter 2:9. You can love God and love people, all people. Jesus did, and still does. Peace and Joy to all.

Leave a Reply

