I Will Choose Love Today

harmony-11_l

Facebook, as most users know, is a mixed blessing. It can be amusing, informational or it can cause your eyes to roll into the back of your head. I’m pretty sure Twitter and Instagram cause much of the same reactions,I don’t know,I don’t use them.

     I’m not sure I can stay on Facebook for much longer. I wrote a blog a while back titled “Keep it Kind”. Well, I can’t tell others what to do, I can only watch my own attitude and agenda, and therein lies my problem.

     Too many fellow Christians, well meaning followers of Jesus Christ can’t seem to or don’t care to stop hating on and bashing gay people. You see, once you have people in your life, who just happen to be gay, you tend to lose the vim and vigor for gay bashing. You may feel less inclined to wave indignant banners of self-righteousness on Facebook and other social media.     That old evangelical hymn plays through my head as I write this blog. “I have decided to follow Jesus, I have decided to follow Jesus, I have decided to follow Jesus, no turning back, no turning back”. And the way I have come to understand the character of Jesus, yes, God in the flesh is this: He came for us all. None is righteous, no not one.

That He truly does love the world, the WHOLE world, so very much that He sent the only Son he would ever have to redeem us from the insanity that is planet earth.
I don’t have the answers to how we can love one another as we love ourselves, so I try, (without much success many times) to look to Jesus. The Jesus who healed, restored and came to heal the masses. The Jesus who called out the Pharisees for being misguided about outward appearances, but not for being overly concerned about what was going on inside their hearts and minds. What would Jesus do? What would Jesus do on Facebook? Heck, I don’t know. But I have a very strong feeling his daily posts would not so much be about which political view he takes but possibly more about” who can I reach today for eternity”? Who (or is it whom?) can I love into the Kingdom? There is an old Native American proverb, we have all heard it: “Don’t judge me until you have walked my journey.”
I am not the judge and jury to anyone, on or off Facebook. But, I have a feeling that the more time I spend “waving a banner of disgust” the less time that leaves me to lead people to a relationship with Jesus. You don’t have to agree with me or anyone one else to spread the good news.

One thought on “I Will Choose Love Today

  1. Pingback: I Will Choose Love Today | Pots, Pans and Proverbs

Leave a Reply

