Human/Christian

It’s Sunday morning. I am sitting at my computer wondering if I am going to get in the shower and get ready for church. Wondering IF I am going to go to church is very unusual. I rarely miss. Not because I am so pious, that the mere thought of missing church makes me shudder. I just really do need to hear from God through my preacher, weekly. It improves the Christian walk and all.

No, it was kind of a week when being with other Christians was a scary place to be. For me and them. I know we are all human. Even after Christ enters a life, we are still “bound by the flesh” and will mess up on a very regular schedule. I know this as sure as I breathe. I am one such flawed human/Christian. I need to bow my head hourly to confess and repent. Really.

     But, this past week was a doozy. Spiritual war-fare, perhaps. People being people. Probably. I need to move way past this, but I am just a teeny bit shy of reaching that goal.  So here is the dilemma: Do I stop wondering if I am going to get in the shower, apply my make-up and then apply my I am “happier than a pig in mud” Sunday morning face? Or, Am I going to stand in line at the Pancake Pantry with the shorts and t-shirt clad minions, and get my short stack?

Church won. Prayed, sang and begged God to help me with my hurts and grievances. He will, this I know. But it never hurts to add a little padding to the beginning of the week. Strong coffee, scripture and maybe a chat with a good friend. Happy Monday! 

Leave a Reply

