Tornado’s: Real and of the Mind

I cannot help but to feel like the floor just fell out from under me when disaster strikes. Of course, I am referring to the latest disaster, the Oklahoma tornado’s. I’m recovering from a rather wicked cold, flopping down on the couch and turning on the tube have been my MO over the past few days. But Monday brought something more than mindless relaxation via the tube. The first thing I heard when I pressed the power button was: go to your safe place. No, it did not involve middle Tennessee, but the state of Oklahoma. The weather guy even went so far as to say that an interior room would not be sufficient, you must go under ground. Yikes. The devastation was so complete, I could scarce take it in. Splinters, fires, mud and rubble. No stone left unturned. When I caught my breath I was angry. Yes, angry with God. Now, as a seasoned Christian I should know better. I SHOULD know better. But, like all believers of the Bible, I do have my moments when I wrestle with God. Don’t all kids go toe to toe with their parents, yes, even the parent’s who love them? I would dare say yes we do. 

So I stomped my feet, metaphorically, and absorbed the horror I was seeing. And I wondered what it would be like to try to go to sleep with no home, no car, no clothes, no food, no peace. Then I raged some more. How long Lord? When will the devastation stop on this whirling blue planet? Of course I prayed. It was all I could feasibly do in the moment. It is  all most of us can tangibly do when we see things that potentially overwhelms us.

I guess the point of this post is this: Can we trust God and still be mad at Him on occasion? Yes we can. Does questioning our heavenly father sever our relationship with Him? No. When Christ was dying a horrifying and gruesome death on the cross for all of humanity, there came a moment when he cried out: “My God, my God! Why have you forsaken me”? So if the only perfect being ever to walk the earth can have a moment, then I am truly at peace with the pain and doubt that creep up in my mind from time to time.

Jesus is the example we should always follow, in good times and in bad. I woke up this morning in my own bed in my intact house and thanked God for all of it. What can I do to help those left homeless and adrift in Oklahoma? Well of course pray with all I’ve got. But more than just gratitude, I have the added opportunity to give to my local churches that will undoubtedly be giving or even physically going out to this devastated community. The Red Cross is another great way to help, they are the “hands and feet” of God. This is one of those times when I can truly say: “Except for the grace of God, there goes me”. Proverbs 23:18 “There is surely a future hope for you, and your hope will not be cut off”.
Amen and Amen.

Leave a Reply

