“Break My Heart for what Breaks Yours”

300_444574There is a line in a contemporary Christian song:” Break my heart for what breaks yours.” This sends tears streaming down my face each and every time I sing it. But what does it really mean to me once I step out of church? Mother Teresa no doubt understood what it meant, and I am quite sure she never heard this song. So, what does this mean to me? How will I apply it to my own life from the comfort of my little house in the suburbs, not the gritty streets of Calcutta?

I will share what has been put on my heart as of late. I wake up in the middle of the night( as mom’s often do). Problems, concerns and troubles are rolling around in my head. I know this happens to believers in Christ, as well to those who may not know Him as their Lord and savior. But as a believer, I now know that this is an opportunity to hear God telling me what  breaks His heart.  In the total darkness and quietness God speaks. There is no television on, no music playing, no texting “bings”. He has my full attention right now. Is someone hurting? Are there fellow believer’s spreading the kingdom cause through hate and fear? Did some horrific item run on my news feed? Yes, yes, yes. So, I pray and pray some more.

Praying is something I can do from the comfort of my little house in the burbs. Does someone need a word of encouragement? Does a neighbor need some cookies baked for them? Do I need to drop something off for someone in need that I am not using? Just do it.

Other nights God speaks of things in my own life that need to go. Things I am allowing in my life that should not be there. He speaks this heart-break to me too. I did not necessarily ask for this mid-night revelation, but He knew I needed to hear from Him and He speaks.

So ask Him. What breaks your heart Lord? Show me, teach me, tell me. If I get too caught up in the distractions of daily life, He knows when my attention is fully His.  And the revelation of what is breaking His heart stirs me, wakes me, and He tells me. And I pray.  “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful” Colossians 4:2 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

