“Beyond the Looking Glass”

Cosmetics

Cosmetics (Photo credit: My Sight, as You See.)

  • I have implemented a new day for myself. “No make up Monday.” This can be quite a scary concept. It’s tantamount to leaving one’s house without pants on. Ok, not quite, but almost. What got me thinking about beauty was a video that I just viewed on Relevant Magazine’s website entitled “Dove Real Beauty Sketches.” You can view it  below. A forensic artist sketches people describing themselves, and he draws that description. Then he has some one else describe them, and he draws that description. Wow. What a difference. How critical we can be about ourselves. And how beautiful we, quite possibly, may appear to others.  Now, please don’t get me wrong, there is absolutely nothing wrong with makeup. I for one love the stuff, and for better or worse have passed this love along to my darling daughter. She of the adoration for all things makeup, glitter and pageantry. We are who we are painted up or bare naked. I strive to have peace in the bare-face nakedness as well as the made up version of myself.  To some women, no make- up is a no-brainer, that makes perfect sense to them. To others, who grew up watching mom apply the beauty paint,  it became “de rigueur” to apply daily. My sweet girl walked past me on my first make-up free Monday and told me” you look really pretty today mommy”. She did not know that I had implemented make-up free Monday.  Lump in throat. Our kiddo’s truly love us for the perfectly, imperfect people we are.  Liking what we see in the mirror speaks to contentment more than anything else. The same thing goes for  home, car, families or bank accounts. How does mine stack up to theirs? Pretty darn good some days. And other days, well maybe not so much. Maybe if we could position our views in the light of what God thinks about us, we just might be able to breathe a sigh of relief.  He, after all let you off the production line, so you must pretty darn good.  But, more over, the King of Kings say’s:” You are good to go.” So go.  And as another famous beauty company admonishes us: “Love the Skin you’re in”.  ——-      “You are all together beautiful, my darling, and there is no blemish in you” Song of Songs 4:7
3 thoughts on ““Beyond the Looking Glass”

  1. That’s what big sunglasses and baseball caps are for! I was forced to give up the bandana during the Middle School years.

Leave a Reply

