Swaying to the Beat

Like many, I feel so completely overwhelmed when reading the news, Face Book and myriad social outlets. We live in a messy, imperfect world where faith and feelings collide. I have heard “don’t trust your feelings”. Ah, no. Feelings and emotions are God-given guide posts so we don’t run it into the ditch. Yes, many times our feelings can get out of control and we need to temper those nasty emotions with the Holy Spirit. A personal life long battle of mine. Our own lives have places we don’t want the light to shine on. Not on us, not on the people we love. What would others think? What do I think? Deep resounding sadness and pain can overtake us when we read some one else’s observation on a particular hot topic that has been a part of our own lives or people we love dearly lives: divorce, mental illness, eating disorders, addictions, adultery, abandonment, rage, insecurity. This list could go on and on and on. As of late, when I feel so completely unhinged with emotion God has whispered an old hymn in my ear, and I find my self swaying to the beat: “Have thine own way Lord, have thine own way, mold me and make me master I pray” When nothing else in the moment makes a bit of sense: sway to the beat. “Jesus answered, It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick” Luke 5:31

One thought on “Swaying to the Beat

  1. Pingback: Swaying to the Beat | Pots, Pans and Proverbs

Leave a Reply

